Leadership

Tad 2952 colorC. Tad Bohannon
Chief Executive Officer

Tad Bohannon was unanimously appointed as Chief Executive Officer of Central Arkansas Water (CAW) by the Board of Commissioners on January 21, 2016. He is tasked with leading the largest public drinking water system in the State of Arkansas, which has an operating and capital improvement budget of nearly $56,000,000, and which serves over 400,000 consumers in 18 cities and communities. With close to two decades of experience with water and wastewater utilities, Tad is responsible for the overall administration and operation of CAW’s assets.

As Chief Executive Officer, Tad will complete the consolidation of Maumelle Water System into CAW, preserve CAW’s outstanding water quality, maintain the affordability of CAW’s water, improve customer service, and continue an ambitious multi-year program to improve aging infrastructure that was initiated by his predecessor. Tad will also work tirelessly to strengthen existing relationships and build strong relationships with local, state, and national constituents and advocates in order to maintain CAW’s water quality and value for the next generation of Central Arkansas residents, increase sustainability initiatives, and ensure CAW remains a state and national leader in financial reporting, transparency, watershed management, and other key utility operations.

Prior to joining CAW, Tad represented numerous water and wastewater utilities throughout Arkansas. He is a frequent speaker at local and national conferences, and has served as an adjunct professor at the William H. Bowen School of Law, teaching both Local Government and Real Estate Transactions. Tad has degrees from Hendrix College, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock School of Law, and Washington University. Tad is a member of the American Water Works Association (AWWA), Association of Metropolitan Water Agencies, and Water Environment Federation (WEF). He maintains Arkansas Class IV water treatment and distribution licenses.  In addition, Tad is licensed to practice law in the States of Arkansas and Texas and before the United States Supreme Court, the United States Tax Court, and local federal courts. Tad lives in Little Rock with his wife, Gayle, and son, Spencer. The entire family are active members of St. James United Methodist Church.

Thad LutherThad Luther, P.E.
Chief Operating Officer

Thad Luther, P.E., is a professional engineer with decades of experience in the water and wastewater industries. He has direct supervision over the Distribution, Information Services, Finance & Customer Service, Source & Treatment, and Engineering departments, as well as the Environmental Health & Safety Program. A native of Charleston in Franklin County, Arkansas, he was Manager of Engineering Services for Little Rock Wastewater from 1991–2005 and Senior Staff Engineer for that utility prior to that time. From 1982–1987, he was a District Engineer with the Engineering Division of the Arkansas Department of Health, where he was responsible for the oversight of public drinking water systems and their compliance with state and federal standards for quality and safety. He earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville (UofAF) in 1977. He holds a master’s degree in environmental engineering from the Uof AF and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Thad is a 2003 inductee into the Arkansas Academy of Civil Engineers. He also is a member of the Little Rock Founders Lions Club and is a Melvin Jones Fellow in Lions International.

Staff Directors

Chief Executive Officer
Tad Bohannon
501-377-1345
tad.bohannon@carkw.com

Chief Operating Officer
Thad Luther
501-377-1220
thad.luther@carkw.com

Technical Services Officer
Robert Hart
501-377-1344
robert.hart@carkw.com

Chief Financial Officer
Jeff Mascagni
501-377-1339
jeff.mascagni@carkw.com

Chief Administrative Officer
Becky Linker
501-377-1357
becky.linker@carkw.com

General Counsel
David Johnson, J.D.
501-377-1346
david.johnson@carkw.com

Director of Public Affairs and Communications
Douglas Shackelford
501-377-1268
douglas.shackelford@carkw.com

Director of Distribution
Terry Bice
501-223-1564
terry.bice@carkw.com

Director of Engineering
Jim Ferguson
501-377-1298
jim.ferguson@carkw.com

Director of Environmental Health and Safety
Kevin Hall
501-377-1280
kevin.hall@carkw.com

Director of Information Services
Allen Vincent
501-377-1263
allen.vincent@carkw.com

Director of Water Quality 
Paul R. Easley
501-210-4935
randy.easley@carkw.com

Director of Water Production
Sam Zehtaban
501-377-1331
sam.zehtaban@carkw.com